LOS ANGELES – Jackson Browne went on tour in 1977 with a remarkable group of musicians to create an album about the road, on the road. The result was Running on Empty, a musical portrait of life on tour that is as brutally honest as it is achingly beautiful. Paul Nelson wrote in his original Rolling Stone review of the album that “Browne has consciously created a documentary, as brightly prosaic as it is darkly poetic, with a keen eye for the mundane as well as the magical.”

A new version of Running On Empty with newly remastered sound and a faithful reproduction of the original artwork will be available July 5 on CD ($14.98), 180-gram vinyl ($24.98), and through digital download and streaming services. The album was mastered by Gavin Lurssen of Lurssen Mastering. The vinyl was mastered by Ron McMaster, and manufactured on 180-gram vinyl by the Pallas Group.

Runningonempty Lp Jacket.indd

The album features 10 live performances recorded in 1977 between August 17 and September 18 by Browne and his band: guitarist Danny Kortchmar; David Lindley on fiddle and lap steel guitar; keyboardist Craig Doerge; bassist Leland Sklar; drummer Russ Kunkel; and background vocalists Doug Haywood and Rosemary Butler. Together, they took an unconventional and, at the time, profoundly innovative approach to recording these songs, opting for natural settings while on the road, such as a Holiday Inn hotel room, a backstage rehearsal space, on a tour bus, and on stage.

Cameron Crowe has previously noted on the album: “More than a live recording, Running On Empty was closer to a life recording,” adding that Browne was backed by his “mightiest band yet.”

The New York Times foresaw the album’s future influence in their 1978 review, predicting that “this album and its success may prove to be a powerful leavening influence, on both Mr. Browne and other singer‐songwriters whose ambitions are even remotely like his own.”

Running On Empty is Browne’s biggest-selling album, peaking at #3 on the Billboard albums chart, and has been certified 7x Platinum by the RIAA for sales of over seven million copies.


Track Listing

  1. “Running On Empty”
  2. “The Road”
  3. “Rosie”
  4. “You Love The Thunder”
  5. “Cocaine”
  6. “Shaky Town”
  7. “Love Needs A Heart”
  8. “Nothing But Time”
  9. “The Load-Out”
  10. “Stay”